Yesterday’s assignment from Phil

Posted: November 1, 2012 in Home

I was so horrified to have to write a religious poem, it is not anything I have ever done:(

However having got stuck with the ending I wrote yesterday I thought I would do it ASAP.

 

I have taken the beginning of Hughes’ Gaudete, “And falls, and gets up from the dead, and shouts.” I loved this and liked the play on the literal meaning of the beginning and the metaphorical end…

 

 

“And falls, and gets up from the dead, and shouts.”

 

It’s dark and the Reverend Lumb

marches with his cassock of disbelief

flapping round his bony knees.

 

He jolts through the desert dusk

into streets of corpses

lying in one another’s arms.

 

Lumb falls, and gets up from the dead,

and shouts. His cry

is answered by a capering fool,

 

laughing at his distress.

It beckons. In a seductive voice

it says, “Lumb, follow me.”

 

And spellbound, Lumb sees it all.

“You think that this

permits your doubts? No.

 

Your doubts create this.”

It turns, and it is golden

and crucified. Lumb falls

 

down on those bony knees,

then gets up from the dead,

and shouts in triumph.

Leave a Reply

