thinking about the pamphlet…

Posted: January 18, 2013 in Home

Two versions of the same poem; it came from visiting a psychic show for entertainment and having a weird experience.
The first one is formal and rhyming and the second is free verse.

Seeing Psychics

All week I’ve been listening for voices from beyond ,
scared that the crying dead would leak through chinks
where time has loosened its cruel fingers. I think
my doubts are safe as houses, yet I join the fond
queue of relatives, hoping for post mortuary links.

The vampire of myself flits round those moonlit darks
but bones are dumb and silent in their mounds.
I’m in the red plush theatre, looking for a bloody wound
to soak my fingers in. But my expectations bark
their shins. My mangy werewolves stalk

my cemetery spaces, with flattened ears and tails
between their legs, past clouded figures, heads
tied up in shawls. Here is a bright thread
for me to follow though my heart fails
at the hiss of breath that stirs those veils.

Pumpkin-headed, running by my turnip light
if I had looked hard enough or looked at all
could I have seen past or through that seeming fall
into darkness? To a waking from annihilating night,
to that bright filament that leads you to the light?

VOICES FROM BEYOND

All that week you’d been listening for voices from beyond
scared that the crying of the dead would leak through chinks
where time had lost its grip. You were looking for a bloody wound
to wash your fingers in. But your doubts were safe as houses.

Then the clouded mannequins of your salty, wrung-out years rushed
forward to parade bound heads and shawls, with the suspicion of a pattern
scattered on those silks. If you had looked at all, pumpkin-head, you
would have seen them running by your own dull sputter.

And have learned that the wolves at your heels were nothing but those
cringing dogs whose ears flatten as you pass the beating of their tails.
And the vampire of yourself? It was of course so busy feeding that,
once again, you missed the thread that leads you to the light.

Leave a Reply

