A vampire sonnet for Steve!

Posted: February 7, 2013 in Home

A Vampire Sonnet

I had not noticed, for the sticky sun
had turned me dull and unobservant.
A honey of unseeing. It was done.
And I was stolen in an instant.

It was a childhood summer when she took
my life away, after she had waited
in a place that would defile a prayer book,
and where every hunger could be sated.

From then into my mislaid future days
she was there in the corner of my eye.
She was the one who ruined me in ways
that stopped the tears I always tried to cry.

Now I am grown, and it’s my time to wait
for another child to carry to her fate.

Leave a Reply

