Not before time I am updating my poor neglected blog!

Reading/Workshop University of Lincoln

I really enjoyed going back to the University of Lincoln on 4th Feb to read some of my poetry and talk about poetry writing to this year’s MA Creative Writing group.

It was good to be back and I felt very welcome! The students were a great bunch.

I was really nostalgic, too. My own MA year was rewarding and inspiring and has got me writing regularly. Result! It was also good to see Michael Blackburn again, my excellent tutor on the course.

Pimento Poets

Yesterday I went to my second session at Pimento Poets, a monthly meet up at the Pimento Tearooms in Lincoln. Apart from nearly dying, rushing up Steep Hill, it was really good. There are some excellent poets reading there.

 

Writing East Midlands Lincoln Writers’ Meet Up

Tomorrow I am going along to :

Lincoln Writers’ Meet Up (hosted by Writing East Midlands)

Writing East Midlands

Wednesday, 11 February 2015 from 18:00 to 21:00 (GMT)

Lincoln, United Kingdom

“Are you a writer living and working in Lincolnshire? Writing East Midlands would like to get to know you!

We’d love you to join us on Wednesday 11th February for the Lincolnshire round of Poetry By Heart at the Collection (Lincoln), and beforehand at a writers’ meet-up with Writing East Midlands. Join us for tea and coffee from 6pm, meet the Writing East Midlands team, other local writers, and the judges of Poetry by Heart, tell us about your work and the best ways that we can support you going forward. Then, take your seat in the auditorium from 7pm for an exciting evening of poetry delivered by secondary school students from across the county.

Writing East Midlands is the regional writers’ development organisation, delivering a range of professional development services for writers at all stages of their career, including mentoring, advocacy, courses and performance opportunities. Poetry by Heart is a national competition in which secondary school students commit to heart and recite some of the nation’s favourite poetry.”

 

15th South Holland openarts exhibition

http://www.sholland.gov.uk/leisure/artsdev/events/openartsexhibition.htm

I am very pleased to have heard that two of my pieces have been chosen. I am always trying to combine art with text.

The first is Rapunzel is Sleeping, which is a shadow box with my poem collaged into it

Rapunzel 1

 

I live in this smooth “o”
which has no entrance
but the window and
the ladder of my yellow hair.
My mouth opens: how I sing!

In  here it’s dark and secret,
red plush, such a warm hollow.
Your face turns towards
my subtle chant; these walls,
and how to scale them?

The sorceress runs upwards,
spider-wise. The thread quivers.
There are doors which you must open.
Your thoughts harden on my
snug interiors, blind caves.

Now you must call and enter:
“Your hair, Rapunzel.”  But
she has my place, tops the shaft.
The bird is flown, and the cat
will have the best of you.

You’ll fumble for my music.
Soon, I will see you blind
and heal you with my tears.

The second is Picasso’s Boy and the Enduring Triumph and Tragedy, a mixed media piece with found poetry and an illustration of Picasso’s awkward clown from an old encyclopaedia

 

PICASSO

 


Leave a Reply

